Selva Verde Lodge

Costa Rica

The food and wildlife we saw there we're excellent, also the organised trips. The accommodation was fine but so noisy, it was situated by a busy main which we weren't expecting. If any of your clients go they would need to ask for rooms 44 or 45 to have the experience you would expect.

Name: Mr Adrian Townsend

Date of trip: 08/04/2016

Number of people: 2

Read more

Four rooms per block, very clean and spacious but could hear noise from conjoined rooms. Surroundings are stunningly beautiful, being immersed in rainforest - only spoilt by traffic noise from busy, adjacent road. Meals were delicious and staff friendly, mainly bilingual, and very helpful in arranging any of the numerous tours/excursions on offer. A superb Lodge to visit for anyone interested in conservation.

Name: Linda Paterson

Date of trip: 18/02/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

The standard of accommodation was a bit of a let-down - very basic (I had to request an extra fan in the room), possibly because we had come from something superior at Tortugero. However, the wildife was particularly good, especially the birds.

Name: Mrs. Susan Richardson

Date of trip: 02/03/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Another excellent hotel. We were booked into a bungalow but this was 1/2 mile away and isolated from the main hotel. it had air conditioning but was musky and damp in the tropical heat, a bit of a throw back to some 60's motel. We changed the room to the main hotel with no air con which was excellent. Not sure I would book the bungalow air con or not. it was a bit like solitary confinement!! Excellent staff

Name: Mr. Graham Parker

Date of trip: 14/06/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Rain rather blighted our stay here as did being so close to the main road. The centre is wonderful but due to the constant traffic noise I did feel that we were in a park, rather than the wilds of Costa Rica. The birds were fantastic and despite the weather we saw some beautiful little animals and took some great photos. Loved the suspension bridge and chocolate making in the jungle!

Name: Mrs Ginny Cheeseman

Date of trip: 18/11/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very good for tours, birds, wildlife and the accommodation was very good. We were in a room close to the river which was good for birding. The bar/restaurant area was good, but the serving times were very inflexible. We arrived at around 2pm and the restaurant was shut, so no lunch. Then we were booked for the night walk at Tirimbina with a pick-up time at 6:30pm - the restaurant opened at 6pm and they said they could get us 2 pizzas ready to eat in the half hour, but failed, so take-out pizza for dinner!

Name: Mr Peter Griffiths

Date of trip: 09/01/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Smack in the rainforest - great guides. Very clean if simple lodge - perfect

Name: Mr. Anthony Conway

Date of trip: 27/01/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

There were problems with the first two bungalows we were allocated - badly broken toilet in the first and broken air conditioning (which to be honest we weren't very concerned about) in the second. However, the manager insisted on moving us in to a very large and well appointed house in the grounds of the hotel!

Name: Mr. Peter Cannell

Date of trip: 30/01/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

The staff were very obliging and the wildlife was plentiful The food was undistinguished, but adequate, but the bungalow we stayed in was a long way from the main lodge, across a busy road, and was rather old-fashioned in feel.

Name: Nick Ward

Date of trip: 19/01/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

The dawn and dusk walks were fabulous, with knowledgeable and enthusiastic young guides. Saw 45 bird species and an armadillo. By far the best access to wild life here. The cocoa tour was really interesting and different, as they demonstrated how to make chocolate from the pod to the cup, with tasting at each stage as we went along. Beware the long walk up the rough steep track and steps to the bungalow from reception and restaurant - but the shuttle car was always available and happy to drive us there and carry the cases up the steps.

Name: Mr. Christopher Tyler

Date of trip: 26/02/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

The surroundings make this place great. Lodgings and buffet food is fairly basic; excellent pizza restaurant.

Name: Gill

Date of trip: 02/04/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

A great first location, with wonderful birds and frogs. The vibe was genuine eco, which went down very well with all of us. The only fly in the soup was the road noise - having a major highway running right through the lodge may make access easier, but it sllightly harshes the general mellow.

Name: Mr. Duncan Green

Date of trip: 08/04/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Another very comfortable lodge

Name: Jon Cable

Date of trip: 11/04/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Lovely. Enjoyed a great night walk and an equally amazing early morning bird watch. The receptionist very kindly changed our room so we had a view of the river. Enjoyed meeting other guests, relaxing in the hammock by the room and watching the howler monkeys sleeping in the trees on the other side of the river. Room facilities: comfortable, spacious with a good shower.

Name: Mrs. Anne Mitchell

Date of trip: 02/05/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Night frog walk was amazing.

Name: Mrs. Jacqueline Green

Date of trip: 26/05/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Good, well-equipped, spacious rooms with a view of the gardens. The food was very good, in both the main and Italian restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, it rained very heavily while we were there which meant we could not explore the self-guided walks and river bank as much as we would have liked, but the availability of under-cover viewing points with on-tap coffee/tea meant that we could watch the birds coming to the feeders between showers. The covered walkways between the rooms and public areas were much appreciated!

Name: Elaine & Terry

Date of trip: 15/11/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Everything was excellent apart from the food - not high quality and rather bland in both restaurants. However the bird watching and guides and rooms were amazing

Name: Mr. Duncan Harriss

Date of trip: 15/11/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

On a main road, but most of the rooms set well back, and there is a lovely river at the back. Room was nice, and the gardens and trails are excellent. Food mediocre, and everyone had to wear compulsory wristbands, but overall a good choice. The wildlife guides here really excellent. Would stay again.

Name: Mr. Neil Henson

Date of trip: 04/12/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

A fantastic bird watchers paradise. We really enjoyed the trips to the Chocolate plantation and the river rafting experience.

Name: Ms. Erica Stockdale

Date of trip: 08/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Wonderful bird-watching....accommodation more basic but comfortable and again good food. We had an excellent guide for our night-tour and bird watching...knowledgeable and enthusiastic.

Name: Doctor Kevin Hurrell

Date of trip: 01/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

A little tired and needed some updating

Name: Mr. Jason Gostling

Date of trip: 22/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Our room was poor being on the corner of a block of four and all others in the block had to walk past our room which was difficult. There were better rooms nearer the river which would have been better. All made up for by the excellent guided walks. Food was ok breakfast good

Name: Mr. James Roe

Date of trip: 26/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Comfortable rooms with humming birds close by and outside seating. A very good place for intensive birding with good guides (though the other group had a novice guide who was much less informative). Food OK but rather a basic cafeteria style restaurant, but probably no point paying extra for a pizza in the downstairs restaurant just to get a white tablecloth and waiter service.

Name: E Furr

Date of trip: 24/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Not initially impressed with the restaurant, a bit utilitarian, but food was fine and the bird feeders off the balcony invited many good birds including our first motmot. The guide Randy, was particularly good and had the most rewarding 2 hour walk around the lodge. Able to walk ourselves to other side of the busy road, still within the lodge area, and again good wildlife sightings. Pool area needs a good clean as does the furniture.

Name: Lorna

Date of trip: 24/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

We were in the bungalows but the walk to the main complex was via a lit, covered walkway. Take your own drinks as you have a fridge and it’s a long walk to the bar. The pool was the only one we didn’t use, it didn’t look too inviting. We weren’t too impressed that our bird Walk was going to be with about 10 other people. Luckily a couple let us join their private guide.

Name: Mr. John Wilkins

Date of trip: 29/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

We were booked into a bungalow room up the hill, but didn't fancy the steep walk or crossing the main road several times a day, so we got switched to a room near the river when we arrived. The reception staff were very helpful and nice. Another dingy room. Food was a bit mixed.

Name: Andrew and Diane Wright

Date of trip: 17/02/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Mr. Timothy Somervell

Date of trip: 07/03/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Due to heavy rain we declined the bungalow in favour of room nearer activities and restaurant. The bungalows are quite a walk uphill from main building and across a busy road. Think it would be good to ask clients in advance what they would prefer. The room was quite basic and probably not as nice as bungalow, but the proximity made it preferable. Guides were excellent here and bird watching feeder attracted a lot of birds including toucans.

Name: Mrs. Lisa Chambers

Date of trip: 14/03/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

A fantastic lodge for birding, lovely setting by the river and really good nature guides. The room was spacious and comfortable but perhaps a little dated. The food was ok in the Italian restaurant, upstairs the local food was a bit basic.

Name: Mrs Claire Race

Date of trip: 24/04/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Believe we had the best room 44 (45 next door as good) furthest from road and reception but over looking the river with chairs outside, beautiful. Covered walkways give access to all parts (useful in a rain forest !)The ethos of the lodge is very strong in conservation and awareness . They have a separate area for bringing local children and women in to show them the importance of their environment. Had a brilliant guide Ronald we did a night walk and early morning bird walk both were unbelievable he was so passionate about his work and extremely knowledgeable. The included food was quite poor we paid to eat in their Italian restaurant which had a lovely ambience as well as food .

Name: Lynn A

Date of trip: 01/05/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Fantastic location & guiding but rooms need updating & food mediocre. Described as being deep in rainforest. Some lovely primary rainforest but very close to main road with noisy trucks!

Name: Ms. Joanne Treadwell

Date of trip: 04/05/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

The rooms were really lovely, and the staff really nice. The guide were particularly knowledgeable, and the bird life absolutely un-paralleled.

Name: Doctor Alison Lee

Date of trip: 07/07/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Night walk saw lots of frogs - worth the detour

Name: Mrs. Sophie Holbrook

Date of trip: 24/07/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

What an extraordinary and heavenly place. I love the very wide spread layout of the small blocks of rooms up on high stilts. I was lucky enough to have room 45 which was at the farthest extreme of the plot, right on the Sarapiqui river edge. I could lie in my private hammock (all rooms had them) and watch the river and the primary rain forest on the opposite bank. You can walk from reception to any other part of the hotel complex via beautifully smooth wooden decking walkways, all of which are covered. Great for trundling suitcases while keeping dry from the rain or cool from the heat. Being raised up gives you great views of the well-tended gardens, flower bushes visited by industrious humming birds, and extraordinary trees full of birds of every hue. You can wander at ground level amongst the foliage and enjoy the butterflies close up. There are some great trails, well sign posted and manageable for most abilities. Across the road from the hotel is more of their land that features the Ocelot Trail. This is a two hour hike up and round over craggy roots (you'll need hiking boots and drinking water) but well worth the effort. It's hard going in the heat, but you'll probably have it to yourself and the sights are definitely worth it. Lovely views, streams, lots of small frogs (Blue Jeans Dart Frog, litter frogs etc), lizards, butterflies, birds etc. A nice pool area has some great wildlife hanging around, but the best thing is the feeder area right next to the first floor buffet restaurant. Bananas are put out every morning on a huge feeder area in a sort of amphitheatre. You can grab a coffee and sit up on the gallery bench watching the most extraordinary array of colour and behaviour even the most uninterested wildlife person would find fascinating. There's always someone (generally guides) around to point out the best things or give you info. I even saw a Nine banded Armadillo scuttle past one early morning which was a thrill. Toucans muscle in and all the minor birds scatter, waiting their turn to get back to the bananas. The squirrels are the only things unperturbed by the Toucans. As mentioned already, the guides here are fantastic. Ronal is one of the best I had on the whole trip. He took me on a night trail (just me which was great) and I was blown away by his obvious connection with nature. He also has great photographic technical knowledge which is handy. The bar manager (sorry, can't remember his name) is great fun and mixes some superb cocktails. He's good company at the end of long day. The buffet restaurant is good and you won't go hungry. The gift shop is comprehensive and is under new management. It sells some good souvenirs as well as basics if you need them. If you're into other activities like white water rafting etc, there are some really good places on the doorstep, highly recommended by other guests I spoke to. I will definitely go back to this hotel.

Name: Absfab

Date of trip: 03/12/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

This is a place trapped in the 1950s, authentic and yet civilised. It was the top bird-watching spot of our trip (no quetzals of course) and we could have easily stayed longer. The large dining room is perfectly situated for watching birds from the balcony and the place is full of knowledgeable wildlife enthusiasts. There is a fast-flowing river running through the grounds where you can take an exhilarating white-water raft ride. Not ideally situated for walking to other locations but a short taxi ride to small villages nearby and other attractions along a flat main road. We had an excellent room near the river away from everything else but you would not want a room close to the noisy main road. The guided tour at OET with Octavio was amazing, his knowledge and ability to spot hidden gems was unreal. This place is a must visit location for anyone into birds and other wildlife

Name: Alan & Elaine Hales

Date of trip: 31/12/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more
Alex-neaves
Talk to Alex - Travel Consultant

Call:  01473 890499

Start planning your tailor-made holiday now. Tell us what you want, and we will tailor make your perfect trip.

Client Rating for Costa Rica 5/5 from 216 reviews

Four rooms per block, very clean and spacious but could hear noise from conjoined rooms. Surroundings are stunningly beautiful, being immersed in rainforest - only spoilt by traffic noise from busy, adjacent road. Meals were delicious and staff friendly, mainly bilingual, and very helpful in arranging any of the numerous tours/excursions on offer. A superb Lodge to visit for anyone interested in conservation.

The Tribes Foundation

Simply by booking with Tribes, you are making a difference. Every booking helps with The Tribes Foundation, the charity we back with admin and funds. Most clients give additional donations which we always put to very good use with one of the wildlife, environmental or social projects we support.

Travel with Respect for the Earth © KC,Shutterstock