Rohetgarh

India

Name: Angela E

Date of trip: 31/12/2014

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very handsome resort, lovely open lawn in center, great place to eat at night listening to music. Lovely room.

Name: Rajasthan Oct/Nov 2015

Date of trip: 25/10/2015

Number of people: 2

Read more

After a day of exploring Jodphur, we were driven to the Rohetgarh for a two night stay. The room was fantastically spacious with a view of the lake and the garden. Breakfast was served next to the pool (unfortunately in December swimming in an outdoor unheated pool wasn't possible despite my best attempts!), and dinner either in a covered rooftop area or in the garden next to an open fire. Entertainment is provided by local musicians and magician. Great fun to watch. The hotel provides horse riding possibilities and we went out on beautiful Marwary horses for a day of exploration and enjoyed an exhilarating ride in the local area with a guide. On route we visited a Bishnoi village and local village. We had a picnic lunch on the banks of a lake, served under a canopy for shade. A definite highlight of our two week holiday in India. Make sure when you are in Jodphur you visit the local market - it's a vibrant place full of colour and real life

Name: Mrs. Lesley De Quartel

Date of trip: 19/12/2015

Number of people: 2

Read more

A tropical Oasis at the end of a bustling village close to the desert. Very relaxed atmosphere, wonderful food, plenty of shade when needed. We could see why Chatwin & Dalrymple found it so conducive to writing here.

Name: Mr. Peter Clouting

Date of trip: 03/02/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

A really lovely experience staying in this attractive fort hotel with beautiful gardens in the centre. Rooms were individual and attractively furnished and the food delicious. Music and lighting in the gardens made it magical

Name: Mr John Baugh

Date of trip: 18/02/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

This is a review of superlatives. I know that poses a risk in that you, the reader, may have different expectations to us. So, let me set some basis. If you want TV and Wi-Fi in your room and a choice of restaurants and shops outside the hotel gates, then this isn't for you. The Hotel & Grounds The hotel surrounds a beautifully kept garden with lots of comfortable seating where one can relax, have lunch and enjoy tranquillity. Whilst we were staying, there was a magician performing in the evening - a nice touch. There is a small pool in a courtyard area where breakfast (downstairs) and dinner (upstairs) are served in pleasant rooms. At dinner time musicians entertain with Indian music. The food A buffet style breakfast is served with a choice of Indian and European hot dishes, eggs and toast cooked to order, a couple of cereals, croissants, fresh fruit, etc. It is not a big choice large hotel affair but more than adequate with a focus on quality. For lunch and dinner there is an a la carte menu and at dinner a set price buffet which we had each night. The choice is not enormous but there is something for everybody. A la carte items are cooked fresh. The buffet is an excellent way to taste Indian food without having a whole dish one might not like. It wasn't clear why some people were offered the a la carte menu at dinner and others like us, directed to the buffet - we were booked Bed & Breakfast - but we didn't ask as we were satisfied with the buffet and the a la carte items took a while to prepare. Service The manager and owner came to ensure we were happy several times with everything and were friendly and very helpful - first class. We also learned a little of the family history from the owner, which was fascinating. It is impossible to single out any other member of staff as they all provided impeccable service as an excellent team. Our room Each room is different so I can only describe ours. It was beautiful, large with several seating areas, a large walk in shower and a well-furnished large balcony area looking onto the garden. We also had a view of the lake. Bottled water, tea and coffee and a kettle and a few biscuits were provided. Our only criticism is that there was no handle in the shower and the tiles could be slippery, which is a potential fall risk. Miscellaneous For those who consider it important, the Wi-Fi works well in the garden area. The hotel also organises various trips. We took the jeep 'safari' to see some wild life and the local Bishnoi villages, see an opium ceremony, local pottery being made, etc. The guide was excellent and the experience well worthwhile. Set your expectations right and you won't be disappointed. For us, a big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Name: Jackie and Alan

Date of trip: 18/11/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Rohet Garh was one of the first forts to open its doors to guests in Rajasthan and is still one of the most interesting.  Best known for its breeding of the famous Marwari horse, it is has a lot of involvement with the surrounding village and is set on the outskirts next to a serene lake.  The rooms are traditional and comfortable.  This is a lovely place to relax and see some of rural Rajasthan.

Name: Alex Burgess, Tribes

Date of trip: 27/09/2014

Number of people: 1

Alex-neaves
Talk to Alex - Travel Consultant

Call:  01473 890499

Start planning your tailor-made holiday now. Tell us what you want, and we will tailor make your perfect trip.

Client Rating for India 5/5 from 130 reviews

Very handsome resort, lovely open lawn in center, great place to eat at night listening to music. Lovely room.

The Tribes Foundation

Simply by booking with Tribes, you are making a difference. Every booking helps with The Tribes Foundation, the charity we back with admin and funds. Most clients give additional donations which we always put to very good use with one of the wildlife, environmental or social projects we support.

Travel with Respect for the Earth © KC,Shutterstock