Parador Resort and Spa

Costa Rica

Fantastic position with superb grounds. Wonderful wildlife within the grounds, lovely pools, panoramic bar to watch sunset over the pacific is hard to beat.

Name: Mr. Andrew Fellows

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Plenty of choice of facilities, very commercialised but we did expect that.

Name: Mr Adrian Townsend

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

More wonderful hotel wildlife including an iguana spat by the pool and some visiting raccoons.

Name: Jane

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Another fantastic room with a large wrap around balcony. Restaurant is excellent (although 2 out of 3 bills were initially wrong). Probably saw more wild life here than in the Manual Antonio national park, sloth and toucans in trees no more than 10 yards from our balcony. The Mangrove river trip is a must do.

Name: Mr. Eric Stelfox

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

large and commercial but lovely with still plenty of wildlife in the grounds and at nearby national park. food service good alacrity and options,service slow at times but plenty of options a ten dollar taxi ride away in town.nice people.would recommend.

Name: Mr. Garrett O'Hanlon

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

I went to Costa Rica with the preconception of Parador probably being the best hotel I'd stay in - and I couldn't have been more wrong! I was disappointed with the standard of cleanliness and food, but mainly the service. Overall it wasn't bad, it just wasn't as good as the other places I'd stayed (especially considering the expense), and not all staff were friendly. Dinner service was very slow and not really worth waiting for. The first night I put it down to my own tiredness but the second night wasn't any better. The third night I went to a soda in nearby Quepos and their food was delicious at a fraction of the cost - and I left feeling full! Yes, the Parador and amenities looks amazing - as did their food - but once you get into it it's not that great.

Name: Linda Paterson

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Ms Cherry Crouch

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Great facilities. Lovely and relaxing.

Name: Mr. Robert Burnett

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

The free upgrade to an Ocean Vista Suite made this another very special place to stay. The restaurant was excellent, as was the hotel's guide. Elias, who took us to Manuel Antonio. Another night there would have been fab!

Name: Mrs. Susan Richardson

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

5 nights here. Beautiful hotel and all it's amenities. Breakfast was a highlight - something for everyone. Our room was air-conditioned and we really liked our balcony looking over the coast and forest ahead. In fact, we had regular visitors from white faced capuchin monkeys. We had dinner at the hotel on 3 nights but since it was the same menu each night, we opted to eat out on the last 2. There was plenty of choice and driving at night wasn't an issue either. It was from here that we had a day in Manuel Antonio National Park.

Name: Mrs. Jackie Morris

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Luxury resort with so much wildlife amongst you e.g. sloth and monkeys in trees throughout grounds, iguanas, hawks and so many birds.

Name: Mr. Dyfrig Davies

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

This was a stunning place, but not really "us". We would have preferred to have stayed an extra night in Cristal Ballena.

Name: Mrs. Karen Roem

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

This is a big 5 star resort and lacked some of the individuality of the other hotels, but food and service was great.

Name: Ms. Antonia Wills

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

An excellent place. Can't criticize anything. We almost wished we had had another day here.

Name: Mr Peter Griffiths

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

This was an excellent hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and food great. our room was comfortable and the facilities were above average.

Name: Ms. Ann Taylor

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Mr. Peter Cannell

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

This was our favourite hotel. I am sure the upgrade helped but the sight of 'Flash' the Sloth on the way from reception to our room and then monkey's in the trees next to the restaurant at lunchtime made us realise what a special place this was. The staff were very attentive and happy, the accommodation was sumptuous and the food great.

Name: Mrs. Julie Jones

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Mr Andre Morrison

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

There was some building work and associated noise during the daytime although you could get away from the noise. The pool had several missing tiles around the edges. These are only minor comments made because of its 5 star rating. The location is fabulous and so is the food and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Saw more wildlife in the grounds than in the nearby national park: sloths, iguanas, white-faced monkeys and macaws and there is a beautiful beach within a few minutes walk.

Name: Kate & Dave

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very comfortable and well-appointed rooms, with spacious grounds and plenty of facilities. Only disappointment was the food at dinner in the main restaurant, which was mostly rather bland.

Name: Mr. Vaughan Williams

Date of trip: 17/03/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Described by a Canadian in our shared transport as ‘swanky’ which was very fitting! The Don Quixote/ baronial theme mixed with vibrant pictures of macaws etc seemed a little odd at first but we got used to it. Due to it’s size, the hotel was quit corporate compared to the others but the staff were friendly and helpful. We had an excellent view from our balcony and saw several birds, monkeys, and a very good close up of a sloth, in fact more than in our visit to the National Park. There are an awful lot of stairs and steps, and the walk down to the beach is steep and rugged. It is situated a little way out of town and a shuttle bus runs during the day but it is a $10 taxi ride each way in th evening, therefore adding to the cost of a meal out quite considerably.

Name: Julia

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Beautiful resort. Touch of luxury on the trip with air conditioning and food menus! Upgrade to sea view was well worth it.

Name: Gill

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

I wasn't expecting an American style hotel but it did make a change from the lodges and I guess it was nice to have a couple of days with aircon!

Name: Jon Cable

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

The hotel was very well run with good facilities, including hairdryers and more 'mod cons' that the others. However, compared to the lodges, this was not our cup of tea. Drinks and meals were pricey so we went out most nights to local bars and restaurants. I took advantage of the self service washing facilities, but felt that $15 was expensive to do it myself. Staff were not as friendly as the other places we stayed and it felt like they were 'tourist weary'.

Name: Mrs. Anne Mitchell

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Luxurious and relaxing, beautiful hotel.

Name: Mrs. Jacqueline Green

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Yhis was more of a hotel as opposed to the lodges we had been stying in. Staff extremely attentive and choice of menu. Guiselle, the bartender in a very quiet bar was always pleased to see us and she was very friendly and chatty.

Name: Mrs. Sheila Pearcey

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Thumbs up • Location: Right at the end of the road and just a 10 minute walk to get to the beach via an easy forest path should it be desired. • Facilities : 4 pools including adult only areas, dining choices to suit all budgets , Spa, shops and nature trail on site. • Wildlife : Such a variety of wildlife without even having to leave the resort grounds. Monkeys, snakes, frogs, lizards, iguanas, many birds including different species of toucan, parakeets, hummingbirds, raptors and many, many more. We even got within 10 feet of an anteater right next to the restaurant one night which was mind blowing. • Food : Options for all budgets & the Caprese pizza is excellent. • Atmosphere: A great place to chill out for a few days and to soak up the sun. A 5 star resort in every way. Very peaceful & relaxing. • Staff: All very professional and eager to help where needed. We even had an incident where we forgot to lock our safe before leaving the room and the cleaner who found this alerted the front desk who arranged for the combination to be re-set. I found this particularly nice especially as I have had money taken by house staff elsewhere in the past. Thumbs down • Like the Lomas del Volcan there is nothing that I would want to change about the Parador.

Name: Mr. Ian Tatman

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A smart resort hotel but a great place to unwind at the end of the holiday. It wasn’t an issue for us but our rooms were on the 3 rd floor - no lift

Name: Doctor John Watkins

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A wonderful hotel, with a great location. Worth paying extra for the sea view.

Name: Ms. Erica Stockdale

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Excellent hotel with superb facilities, including the nearby beach. Area very busy however and Manuel Antonia National park something of a tourist production line. The guides have to cater for the numbers but as mentioned the monkeys and racoons are so used to people they almost put on a display.

Name: Doctor Kevin Hurrell

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Mr. Jason Gostling

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Nice hotel with good rooms, facilities and service, although not a lodge. Our only external wildlife experience here was the visit to Manuel Antonio national park which was terrible. Those wanting a better wildlife experience would do better choosing a different location.

Name: Ray

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

The Parador is a great place to come and stay - and stay. If you want to leave its a minimum $10 taxi ride to get to the end of the road .... the hotel is 2kms up a cup-de-sac - and so worth it when you get there. The gardens are better for wild life than the nearby National Park. the staff are friendly, polite and enthusiastic about everything they do. They all seem to be part-time wild life experts and seem to now where every bird, butterfly and monkey live. We spent 6 nights here and loved it.

Name: portisheadblue

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A decision to extend our holiday by a few days was well worth it! Thank you for the free upgrade to a wonderful room. All staff were wonderful; loved the towel art! Evening food in the restaurant was classy. The self-guided walks proved fruitful. The local bay was a safe swimming and snorkelling spot. Manuel Antonio park produced close up views of animals with Nancy, a very bubbly and knowledgeable guide. We enjoyed eating out too; with good restaurants at 'plaza vista'.

Name: Mrs. Helen Jackson

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

We were upgraded to room in the main hotel, with access by an external lift. The room was light and airy, with a sea view. I needed to see a doctor whilst at the hotel, and the Customer Services Officer was outstandingly helpful. The restaurant and bar let them down badly. The main restaurant food was disappointing, we had to insist on a table one evening - they tried to make us wait 3/4 of an hour when there were unused tables. One evening was largely spoiled because we spent so much time getting drinks - how can a big chap like me become invisible? The adult pool in the older part of the hotel had such shiny, slippery tiles that we and others considered it dangerous - a real risk of a fall. But we did get very good lunches at La Fragata restaurant. The visit to the Manuel Antonio National Park was a complete waste of time. We and hundreds of other people queued to get in, and the sheer numbers drove most wildlife away. We would recommend against visiting Manuel Antonio altogether.

Name: Andrew and Diane Wright

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

We were up gated to a fabulous room . so we can't really comment on what we had booked . Mind you lots of people seem to have been upgraded . The only disadvantage of the hotel was that it did not have direct access to the beach , but we had told Rory that our focus was on Wildlife and not beach holidays so it was not a problem for us . The little beach next to the hotel was really quite first thing in the day so great fro a few hours . We never went to Manual Antonio national park and we heard some horror stories about queuing and crowding . The little trip we did to La Foresta was a great alternative with a guide who really made the whole trip better than it actually was by his enthusiasm and excitement . We saw our best views of Macaws, toucans, frogs and Sloths from the hotels itself

Name: Mr. Peter Cavanagh

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Another stunning but totally different place, again with welcoming cocktails. Moving to 34c on the Pacific Coast the air conditioning in the rooms was very welcome. Lovely restaurant and pool facilities with monkeys, macaws and toucans in the trees near the pool bar to entertain us.

Name: Mr. Kenneth Webb

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

This is a big resort hotel and so pretty busy, but we were upgraded to Premier rooms from where we had great views of the sea and were able to watch the toucans in the trees opposite. The restaurant is very good but quite pricey, especially the wine, so we out out in the evenings in Manuel Antonio, where there are plenty of good, reasonably priced alternatives.

Name: Doctor Andrew Wood

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Enjoyed this much more corporate hotel experience for the combination of some comforts not in the other places and the availability of nature in the grounds - monkeys eating mangoes, Macaws on the almond trees, sloth using the hotel placed large ropes to move between trees. Eating good food outside the terrace in the warn evening was excellent.

Name: Mr Stephen Miley

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

amazing location with wildlife galore all around and not just on the self guided trails. Iguanas at breakfast and monkeys around the pool with scarlet macaws flying overhead. Difficult and expensive to get into town but food excellent and reasonably priced

Name: Mrs. Clare Smalley

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Perfect spot to end our holiday! Couple of swimming pools , one with swim up bar ,10 minute walk to a beautiful beach (watch out tide comes in a long way!) Our room overlooked trees with sea glimpses .Clean modern rooms. Only one restaurant in the evening but food and staff very good. Short $10 taxi ride into town with selection of bars and restaurants. National park at Manuel Antonio is much busier than the others but with our guide saw some amazing wildlife we hadn't seen all holiday. We opted not to swim there so did longer looking at wildlife.

Name: Lynn A

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A relaxing break at a high class touristy hotel. Great views, food & superb sloth viewing. Superbly timed after the cloud forest to dry out & recuperate before heading off to Osa.

Name: Ms. Joanne Treadwell

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Wonderful hotel. Great rooms. Super breakfast. Wonderful pools. Great monkey trail. Magnificent service. Free bus service to Manuel Antonio. Friendly and helpful staff. Best of all is location - Manuel Antonio is a wonderful place.

Name: Mr. Derrick McKenna

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Our 2nd stay there - hopefully not our last. A resort that literally has everything - a top quality location, it's own trails, its full of wildlife ( Iguanas, sloths, Macaws, Cara-Cara's, Howlers and Squirrel monkeys etc etc, it has every comfort going from great accommodation, games rooms to gym, from wonderful pools to mini-golf. Great food and bars, live music and stunning views. Like Lomas del Volcan - I can't praise it enough.

Name: Mr. John Godfrey

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A different type of place entirely. A very good hotel with all the 5* facilities you'd expect. I had a lovely room (319) up on the third floor of a small block overlooking the very well kept gardens. Great sunset views from the balcony. Huge room, TV, air conditioning, luxury sheets, huge bed, lovely ensuite shower etc. Nice welcome basket of fruit. Lovely housekeeping staff. Food is excellent and the waiting staff very friendly and professional. Pool areas, restaurant, bars etc all very well run and maintained. There's a great resident Iguana who scuttles under the sun loungers with impunity. The sunsets are something else. Much more of a typical beach/luxury type hotel which was evident from the number of very loud Americans (yes, sorry to typecast) getting drunk in the pool all day. That said, it's extraordinary what's right under your nose. The trees just behind the main bar had sloths sleeping in them, Scarlet Macaws flew past often, white-faced capuchins play in great gangs on the tiles roof of the spa, butterflies are everywhere. There's a beach you can walk to just down the road, otherwise you'd want to go out on tours etc. The concierge can book these for you but it's cheaper to go direct. I did a fantastic mangrove boat trip with Iguana Tours (definitely do this if you can - it's a different world) and a great catamaran trip out of Quepos marina (Planet Dolphin Tours). I did a general tour to Manuel Antonio National Park which Tribes had already pre-booked for me. What a madhouse it is to get in! SO busy which was quite a shock after the other places I'd been but it's still an amazing park. Although they restrict the number of tour groups at any one time, there are log jams along the trails. It does however mean that there are lots of pairs of eyes to spot things so we saw monkeys, frogs, lizards, boa constrictor, iguanas, sloths and all sorts of birds. The trail also takes you down to the beach which is very pretty, but again, can get a bit busy. Nice cafe half way round (they ban food and drink being brought in by the public to safeguard the park/wildlife). It was here that I met Geiner the tour guide and arranged other tours with him because of his passion/knowledge. The Parador is a great hotel whatever your interests. I'd leave at 5am to go birdwatching for 5 hours and be back in time to have breakfast in luxury just as everyone else was surfacing!

Name: Absfab

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A large resort but felt very friendly and exceptionally well run absolutely spotless. Amazing tours and wildlife at resort.

Name: Mrs. Christine Degerdon

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Another gorgeous location and very decadent. Beautiful pool. The best bit was it had two resident sloths. Wonderful. Very friendly people.

Name: Doctor Renoo Blindt

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

From the pictures, this seemed to be a bit of a standard chain resort, but it is in reality far better. In terms of guest service, Parador was by far the best. There seemed to be as many staff as guests and all very proactively helpful. We were also delighted to get a free upgrade to the suite level rooms which are really fantastic. Sea views and a jacuzzi on the balcony. But the standard rooms looked lovely too. The resort forest path is interesting and a little wilder in places than one might expect. Trips were well organised. Everything just worked fantastically well at this place. We were expecting this to be the least interesting venue in terms of wildlife, but it was in fact the best! Surprisingly we had our best encounters with Sloths in this resort. One in the trees near the garden and another, who, to our astonishment actually came down from his tree for a poop, on the beach path. Very good trip to the National Park with a professional guide. The rainforest being what it is, you could easily walk round on your own and not notice anything. You do really need a guide to see what’s there. Worth taking the taxi into town for a change, especially as one local restaurant may have some great live music on.

Name: Doctor Ian Ground

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A highlight of our trip was our arrival at the Hotel Parador at Manuel Antonio - within moments of arriving we saw a Sloth holding her baby, in a tree, just a matter of feet away from us - a magical moment! The hotel is very nice and is set within fantastic grounds - we saw lots of sloths here, white capuchin monkeys, howler monkeys, deer, agouti, iguana, basilisks and many birds including scarlet macaws. This was without leaving the hotel. Food within the hotel was reasonably priced and very good standard - the sushi was a particular highlight but you have to ask as it wasn't well advertised!! Tico time was good value - half price rather than the usual 2 for 1 which is great as my partner prefers to drink beer and I enjoy a glass of wine. Breakfast was a little disappointing compared to other places we had stayed and paticularly when compared to the quality of lunch and dinner and some of the information at the hotel in the room was confusing and out of date. Other than that we would highly recommend this hotel.

Name: Karen

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

We didn't really like the Parador, too big and rather pretentious! The only place that didn't try and find us a room before check in time at 3.00 (we had to wait until 3.30. for our key in temperatures in the 90s). Having said that, there were lots of birds (sloths, too), good forest trails and excellent meals on the dining room terrace.

Name: Mrs Patricia Staniforth

Date of trip: 25/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more
Dave-Lock
Talk to Dave - Travel Consultant

Call:  01473 890499

Start planning your tailor-made holiday now. Tell us what you want, and we will tailor make your perfect trip.

Client Rating for Costa Rica 5/5 from 216 reviews

Fantastic position with superb grounds. Wonderful wildlife within the grounds, lovely pools, panoramic bar to watch sunset over the pacific is hard to beat.

The Tribes Foundation

Simply by booking with Tribes, you are making a difference. Every booking helps with The Tribes Foundation, the charity we back with admin and funds. Most clients give additional donations which we always put to very good use with one of the wildlife, environmental or social projects we support.

Travel with Respect for the Earth © KC,Shutterstock