Lake Manze Tented Camp

Nyerere National Park (Selous) Tanzania

I particularly liked going on the Lake. This is a friendly camp with good food and excellent hosts who really care - but frankly that could be said of each camp.

Name: Mr. Nicholas Speed

Date of trip: 22/01/2020

Number of people: 2

Read more

see above. lovely, quiet, friendly. comfortable tents with elephant roaming the camp

Name: Dr Henry Lewis

Date of trip: 28/07/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

fantastic location, accommodation was very good - spotlessly clean and well maintained. Staff friendly and guides and drives were informative

Name: Mr. Rhys Thatcher

Date of trip: 17/08/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Our guide Adam and our driver Daniel helped to make this holiday so exciting and memorable with their friendliness, expertise and local knowledge. The camp and all the staff are so welcoming it was hard to leave.

Name: Jean and John, Essex

Date of trip: 10/01/2016

Number of people: 2

Read more

Shaun and Milly who run the camp were excellent and organised everything very well including social manipulation of guest to make sure everyone was included. Food excellent.

Name: Doctor John Patrick Fielder

Date of trip: 27/10/2015

Number of people: 2

Read more

Although a sister camp to Mdonya the manager was very different, new this season, & it took time for me to warm to him but it soon became obvious that he worked as part of his team so I had a good time & another excellent camp to recommend.

Name: Mrs Ruth Samways

Date of trip: 01/10/2015

Number of people: 2

Read more

I couldn't fault our stay. Staff were really helpful and our guides, Harun, Emanuel and Elton were great. The tents were luxurious and, with Maasai security guards keeping watch I never once felt unsafe or vulnerable to the elephants or baboons that wandered through the site. I particularly enjoyed the communal evening meal - outdoors, with a camp fire either end of the table - which gave all the guests a chance to swap their adventure stories. I even caught two catfish on a boat safari on Lake Manze!

Name: Mrs. Carole Artis

Date of trip: 15/08/2014

Number of people: 2

Read more

The flight to the Selous Conservation Region provided a wonderful bird\'s eye view of the terrain. At Lake Manze Camp we found a very enjoyable variety of safaris: foot, boat and jeep. Our tent had a view of Lake Manze where the hippos snoozed and occasionally raised their massive heads to look around. This conservation area has more open plains and sweeping vistas. We were treated to visiting Frederick C. Selous\' grave and then taking a dip in the \"hot spring\". Before descending from the jeep both the driver and the guide did an inspection of the area for our security. This camp also had docking stations for electronics and batteries.

Name: Ms. Johanna Cromwell

Date of trip: 17/06/2014

Number of people: 2

Read more

Another excellent well-run camp. The one criticism was that our solar heated water for the shower never really got warm. This did not matter too much most of the time as the weather was hot enough to make hot showers unwanted, but it would have been pleasant to have the shower water at least tepid. Once again the food was especially delicious.

Name: Mrs. Patricia McKay

Date of trip: 17/06/2014

Number of people: 2

Read more

Lake Manze was very well run. They were extremely professional and knowledgeable. The guides Bakari and Mgona were remarkable and made feel safe in all our adventures. Omani our boatman was extremely professional. It was the best camp my husband\'s been to!

Name: L&R Ayton

Date of trip: 08/06/2014

Number of people: 2

Read more

The tented accomodation was good, though the bathroom was very basic and open to the sky - quite a weird experience especially in the night! The tents are well spaced out so you do have privacy. There are no electric lights in the camp - they just use candles and paraffin lamps so if you want to read after supper you really need a headtorch or similar. There are Masai guards always on hand to escort you to and from your tent to the dining area as there are frequent visitors such as elephants that wander in and out of camp. You definately need to heed the warnings about not drinking the water here and watching what you eat, although the food was ample and good. All the trips were well organised and could include bush breakfasts or lunches,and the guides always take extra drinks in cool boxes on the drives.

Name: Brian & Barbara Barker

Date of trip: 03/02/2014

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very international, some families with children – French, Italian, German, Australian etc mostly on short excursions from Zanzibar.

Name: Mr. Marcus Rutherford

Date of trip: 24/01/2014

Number of people: 2

Read more
Alex-neaves
Talk to Alex - Travel Consultant

Call:  01473 890499

Start planning your tailor-made holiday now. Tell us what you want, and we will tailor make your perfect trip.

Client Rating for Tanzania 5/5 from 217 reviews

Lake Manze was very well run. They were extremely professional and knowledgeable. The guides Bakari and Mgona were remarkable and made feel safe in all our adventures. Omani our boatman was extremely professional. It was the best camp my husband\'s been to!

The Tribes Foundation

Simply by booking with Tribes, you are making a difference. Every booking helps with The Tribes Foundation, the charity we back with admin and funds. Most clients give additional donations which we always put to very good use with one of the wildlife, environmental or social projects we support.

Travel with Respect for the Earth © KC,Shutterstock