Finca Rosa Blanca

Near San Jose Costa Rica

Enjoyed this stay despite a disappointing room, as all the other rooms seemed much brighter with good valley views. Had a very good guide for a bird walk, and saw many stunning butterflies in the quite extensive grounds. Motmots a plenty. Disappointed not to have been told previously about the volcano trip, which we would have found more interesting than the alternatives.

Name: Mr. David Redwood

Date of trip: 06/02/2020

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very convenient after the flight whilst being reasonably rural and very quiet. Good restaurant, good pool and spa. Handy for Central Valley whilst avoiding central San Jose but still took a while to drive out of the conurbation.

Name: Mr. Adrian Davies

Date of trip: 17/08/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

A lovely way to end our holiday. After the jungle humidity, the warm, breezy air, was very welcome, and the food here is very good indeed. It's a very pretty layout, all the individual rooms and villas are white, with plenty of soft lines and round 'corners', set amidst an undulating and beautifully landscaped garden that is packed with butterflies and the odd hummingbird or two. There is a good-sized swimming pool with lovely views towards San Jose (you can watch the sunset over the city), and a hot tub. It's set on an organic coffee plantation (each afternoon guests can enjoy unlimited coffee and home-made coffee cake/cookies for free!), and the tour of the plantation is a really nice thing to do.

Name: Mrs. Karen Coe

Date of trip: 14/08/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Great food, lovely rooms, ours had a lovely balcony with views across the gardens and tree tops. Slightly quirky /boutique décor which we love. Great setting and helpful staff

Name: Mrs. Kathryn Taylor

Date of trip: 01/05/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Ms. Linda Emmett

Date of trip: 16/02/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

A somewhat quirky hotel with no two rooms the same; lovely food with great views from the deck. We went for the coffee plantation tour - well worth it and a great place to start or end your trip.

Name: portisheadblue

Date of trip: 01/02/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

The Coffee Plantation tour was excellent we learn a great deal. The rooms in the hotel are a weird shape which takes some getting used to. A good two nights break when travelling but I am not sure we would have wanted to stay longer. The waiters at meals were surly and not into the service culture.

Name: Professor Brent Davies

Date of trip: 09/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

A thirty minute drive from the airport so an excellent choice for a first night. On arrival, we were greeted by Omar who was so friendly and helpful. The fresh fruit welcome drink was a nice touch! Fabulous room with great view of San Jose. Great breakfasts - plenty of choice. Wonderful coffee from the plantation! Lovely pool with hot tub. We booked onto the coffee plantation tour which was fantastic. Our guide, Ulises, was amazing - so knowledgeable about the many birds, insects, plants and trees which we saw. The coffee tasting session at the end of the tour was really interesting and good fun.

Name: Foundly family

Date of trip: 05/08/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

To visit and stay on a coffee plantation was fabulous. The beautiful hand painted murals were just lovely. I wish we'd had longer, but in fact for a family with teenagers one night was probably plenty and hence only rating it "Good". Lots of environmental awareness here - evident from the rooms to the restaurant and the plantation itself. They are rightfully very proud of their achievements.

Name: Mrs. Elizabeth Bellamy

Date of trip: 25/07/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Perfect spot for the start of the holiday. Comfortable room, good swimming pool, excellent restaurant, pleasant grounds. Plenty more we could have done from this base - we could well visit here again.

Name: Mr. Vaughan Williams

Date of trip: 17/03/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Good location for first and last nights in the country as an easy journey to airport and very comfortable rooms. The coffee tour is an absolute’ must do’.

Name: Mrs. Marie-Anne Beere

Date of trip: 04/01/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Beautiful place with lovely service. Everything was just right

Name: Ms. Donna Johnson

Date of trip: 23/12/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Rather secluded hotel in beautiful surroundings close to San Jose, thereby convenient for the airport. Comfortable suite full of character (inc. quirky bathroom) with beautiful views from the balcony located in main house. Delightful surroundings with lots of wildlife inc. numerous types of butterfly. Staff very friendly and food very good albeit not over generous servings for breakfast.

Name: RetiredBritishCouple

Date of trip: 26/09/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Extremely comfortable rooms with lovely balconies offering a fantastic view over the surrounding gardens and the city. Delicious food in the restaurant and we enjoyed the tour of the coffee plantation across the road.

Name: Mr. Robert Stopford

Date of trip: 26/07/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Unique and beautiful hotel in the hills above San Jose. Skip San Jose and stay here for sure, it's the best place in the area and full of charm.

Name: Mrs. Sara Smith-Laing

Date of trip: 10/07/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Spacious and clean accommodation in a tranquil setting. Charming staff and excellent food. Highly recommended.

Name: Mrs. Jenni Portman - Mr Bryan Portman

Date of trip: 23/03/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

We loved this hotel. The only pity was that we were only there for such short period of time. Beautiful room and the restaurant has great views over San Jose and fantastic food. (On the negative side wake up call and porter never materialised.)

Name: Mr. Eric Stelfox

Date of trip: 19/01/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Mr. Stanley Ryan

Date of trip: 01/03/2016

Number of people: 2

Read more

A unique setting and construction, wished we had more time here. Super gardens and birdlife and beautiful food.

Name: Mr. Andrew Fellows

Date of trip: 20/01/2016

Number of people: 2

Read more
tracy
Talk to Tracy - Travel Consultant

Call:  01473 890499

Start planning your tailor-made holiday now. Tell us what you want, and we will tailor make your perfect trip.

Client Rating for Costa Rica 5/5 from 216 reviews

A unique setting and construction. We wished we had more time here. Super gardens and birdlife and beautiful food.

The Tribes Foundation

Simply by booking with Tribes, you are making a difference. Every booking helps with The Tribes Foundation, the charity we back with admin and funds. Most clients give additional donations which we always put to very good use with one of the wildlife, environmental or social projects we support.

Travel with Respect for the Earth © KC,Shutterstock