Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge

Costa Rica

Easily most beautiful place location of the entire trip, the average food and the very creaky we're the only downside!!!

Name: Mr Adrian Townsend

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Amazing place - and very good guide - who even managed to make the cook prepare a surprise bithday cake for me ...., again. Two comments however: definitely the hotel needs to arrange to have a better wifi (only available at a very small spot near the swimming pool, and only for 1 or 2 people at the same time); and the manager is a bit "tough" and not specially helpful (despite the fact we informed him at the beginning that we had an issue with hot water - no hot water basically), the problem has not been fixed (he pretended we used too much hot water, before recognising it was due to a technical problem)

Name: Mrs. Catherine Bernadat Ep. Frenzel

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Wonderful trip to get there. Arrived to a tractor to pull us up the steep track to the Lodge. Very good welcome, teams of men to lug the luggage. Large well spaced bungalows, comfortable, but not palatial, lovely outdoor shower under the stars! Good food, dinner for all at 7pm which made for speedy service. Good guides, birds and animals. Enjoyed trip to Caco Island but sad that there were a number of other boats and paradise island was shared with several others. C'est la vie I suppose.

Name: Mrs. Hermione Salwey

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

First class eco lodge set in the middle of the jungle with amazing views out to sea. Great snorkelling at nearby Cano island

Name: Mr. Dyfrig Davies

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

This was our favourite hotel. The amazing boat trip down the Sierpe river, out into the ocean and along the coast to the lodge, jumping out of the boat onto the beach, where a pair of scarlet macaws circled over our heads, all added to the sense of adventure at being in this incredible place. The welcome and service by the staff was fantastic, probably helped by the fact that there were only 10 guests staying for the start of our time here i.e. more staff than guests! The characterful lodges were beautifully appointed, comfortable and private. Our guides Alonso and Cynthia looked after us amazingly well, were very knowledgable and patient with all our questions! Everything was beautifully planned, from tours and excursions, to the delicious picnic lunches provided next to the lodge's beach. As this lodge borders on the National Park, we were able to walk straight from the hotel grounds into the park with our guide, instead of having to take a boat to the ranger station. The location and remoteness make this a truly special place.

Name: Mr. Robert Stopford

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Such an enthusiastic team! Superb setting, excellent accommodation and great wildlife. The wildlife walk with Cynthia was great, even though we were pretty tired at the end of it. Like a number of others we declined the snorkelling trip the next day - this was easily accommodated by the team and they organised a dawn birding trip for us with Cynthia and the manager Steve. The boating experience in and out was unexpected, but wonderful. They sorted equipment (dry bags for the boat, wellies, socks, etc) very well.

Name: Mr Peter Griffiths

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

This was probably the highlight of the trip. Wonderful location. However, could we suggest that you do not book the Cano Island boat tour as a matter of course? It is not really an island visit, it is a snorkelling trip. All 3 of us booked on it on the day we went (all from tribes) would have preferred another walking tour.

Name: Mr. Peter Cannell

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Something special! Good accommodation, excellent catering and delightful grounds. All aspects very well done with very friendly and obliging staff and guides

Name: Nick Ward

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Paradise!

Name: Matt Pomfret

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Extraordinary setting in jungle Lots of wildlife sightings and incidents The approach by sea and river wonderful Meet and greet by guide exceptional

Name: Mr. J R

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Lovely environment, really good food. Big outdoor hammocks to relax and watch the wildlife hanging around.

Name: Gill

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Paradise. Could have stayed longer....or forever. The bungalows were amazing and we saw loads of bird and wildlife in the grounds. The outside shower was wonderful. Given the remoteness of this lodge, the food was the best we had all holiday. Again, the sounds of the forest and the early morning (natural) alarm calls were astonishing. The guides and hotel staff were excellent.

Name: Mrs. Anne Mitchell

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Amazing wildlife, stunning setting and food excellent given the remoteness of location.

Name: Mrs. Jacqueline Green

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

From the moment we arrived at La Hacienda we were impressed. We were welcomed and provided with a drink and snack and a useful water bottle. The boat transfer via river and sea was very enjoyable, including showing us 3 sloths in one tree (not a common sight) and a school of dolphins in the sea. On arrival at Casa Corcovado we were made very welcome and were delighted with the layout of the jungle lodge. We had a ‘junior bungalow’ which was very well equipped and set secluded in the grounds complete with a hammock. It was possible to walk straight into the national park from the lodge (with our guide) and our feet were kept dry and comfortable in wellies and socks provided by the hotel; they also offered dry bags and ponchos. The snorkelling gear was very good and well-maintained. All equipment was provided free of charge. The food was excellent and plentiful and the staff very friendly and helpful – providing a very personal service without being intrusive. We were very sad to leave.

Name: Elaine & Terry

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

See above.

Name: Ms. Erica Stockdale

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Paradise. Superb accommodation....choice of 4 four-poster beds in our bungalow, indoor/outdoor shower, own garden space with hammock , lovely pool and wonderful personal service. The position is amazing with an exhilarating boat ride to arrive. On our snorkelling trip we had both dolphins and whales putting on a display for us. The most natural habitat of the trip with wonderful wild-life viewing and a very enthusiastic willing guide.

Name: Doctor Kevin Hurrell

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Room was good clean and comfortable it was a bit regimented in terms of being summoned to dinner at 7.00 sharp and told what time to have breakfast but as the guides doubled up as doing everything maybe it was neccessary

Name: Mr. James Roe

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Excellent accommodation, food and service in a beautiful setting. The boat ride to and from the resort was very good, as was the boat ride to the snorkelling. The snorkelling experience was not as good as promised.

Name: Ray

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

What a wonderful experience. A stunning arrival by plane and boat. The grounds are superb. We felt blessed to be teamed up with our wonderful guide, Manfred (see earlier comments). The highlight was our night walk, but the waterfall walk, birds before breakfast and snorkelling were all excellent. Lovely staff, good food and good cocktails.

Name: Mrs. Helen Jackson

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

The grounds were lovely, and the guides were good. The room was very hot indeed, and again dingy. Whilst we could sleep under the fans, moving around the room was wearing in the heat. We found the food uninspiring. But when I got some fish which seemed to be off, they were generous with free wine. Both pools were enjoyable, especially the chilly lower pool - refreshing.

Name: Andrew and Diane Wright

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Wonderful, made to feel very special here. Great service, room and food in a beautiful li action. Well worth the boat ride and wet landing to get here.

Name: Janet Smith

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A fabulous location and facilities. The attention to detail in our spacious accommodation and surrounding area was exceptional. I would highly recommend this Lodge. There is plenty of walks, a beautiful beach (no swimming) and island close by to visit for snorkeling and bathing. Saw dolphins.

Name: Mrs. Joanna Hoggard

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A beautiful location and unspoilt. The 2 hour boat trip was more like a 2 hour speed boat adrenaline hit and not for those that do not like boats!! The hike was just about achievable as it was 100 degrees and so humid! The snorkeling was good although we were one of about 5 boats at the island. Food and accommodation of a very high standard. A must for a visit to Costa Rica!

Name: Mrs. Lisa Chambers

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A unique place where you felt as if you really were in the jungle! Very well laid out and although the lodges are not large they are beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The restaurant was excellent . We realise that given the environment and setting, air conditioning in the rooms would not be possible, but it was again 34c and very high humidity. The boat trip there was great but perhaps a note in the itinery to warn you that a wet landing was involved would ensure we had the right clothes and footwear for when we arrived at La Hacienda

Name: Mr. Kenneth Webb

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

This is amazing ! We flew down and the flight was so scenic would have booked as an excursion ! Once off the plane , rough track ride then a small boat, there is no dock so really need your shorts and swim shoes ! Then a tractor up to lodge, but its worth it. Massive room beautifully appointed and outside shower ! 2 swimming pools one freshwater in the forest , watched monkeys from my sunbed! Sunset bar, where I saw the best sunset of my life. Restaurant, service,bar and food all excellent. The staff were lovely. Our guide Manfred gave us a guided walk and trip to the Island . The island trip with him was one of the holiday highlights. It was to snorkel as the fish and coral are excellent , I was very uncertain (scared ) Manfred was so patient and without holding any of the others back actually pulled me along so I could share and see everything, was out there for ages so amazing so professional , knowledgeable and experienced. Our boat man Jason spotted Whales and dolphins so quick jump back in boat for close ups! Wished we'd had more than 3 nights.

Name: Lynn A

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Wonderful. Guiding, location, hospitality, food excellent. We are vegetarian & they put Brits to shame with their inventiveness in the kitchen. One of the places on our world travels we would make sure we revisit.

Name: Ms. Joanne Treadwell

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

On a holiday packed with highlights Casa Corcovado stood out. It's a gorgeous location with its own private beach, two really nice swimming pools, brilliant wildlife, glorious trees and plants, excellent food and some of the nicest and most attentive staff we have ever encountered. Every person we dealt with at Casa Corcovado was just lovely - cheerful and endlessly helpful. Particular credit must go to Jose the restaurant manager, who, on being informed that my husband is diabetic, made it his personal task to challenge the chef to come up with deserts he could have (including home made, sugar-free coconut ice cream!), and to Cynthia, our guide. She was absolutely fantastic - a lovely, lovely lady who may be tiny in stature but is a giant in terms of her knowledge of the wildlife and the science of this region, and in the care she took of us. The tours from here are excellent, and the accommodation, service and attention to detail all fabulous. We were so sad to leave here - it felt like we had stayed at the home of a good friend - and we would love to return. There is plenty to do here and, with five nights here, we were able to take full advantage of that and also just chill out.

Name: Mrs. Karen Coe

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

The best ! This place really has the wow factor. Our room, set in a huge private garden area was beautiful, as are the other buildings spread out in the gardens. 2 hour boat transfer from Palmar Sur airport was a real adventure in itself to start off a great 3 days. Well organised with dry bag protection for all your luggage and snacks and drinks provided. All the staff were lovely and there is real laid back vibe. It is not at all pretentious. The food is good home cooked style food, with a choice of 2 mains selected earlier in the day. The beaches are stunning, fun tractor taxi up the hill to the hotel and great views and sunsets from the top. Both the national park hike and the Cano Island snorkelling trips were amazing and unrushed. I wish we had another day to be able to take part in some of the optional extra activities, such as the kayaking. So sad to leave, but another flawless transfer back via Drake Bay airport, leaving just happy memories.

Name: Ann Clark

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Again, somewhere that exceeded all expectations and is simply heaven. Starting the adventure at La Hacienda, the pretty little riverside office in Sierpe where guests board the small boat with their luggage (wrapped in huge waterproof bags as the salty spume out on the ocean is detrimental for cameras and clothing alike), it's a two-hour power ride to the lodge. The river banks are strewn with great wildlife that the boat captain spots for you with a practiced eye. We saw a Potoo, Scarlet Macaws, an Osprey, herons, Pelicans etc Make sure you're wearing plastic shoes suitable for a wet landing (ie getting out of the boat directly into the wash) at the other end. It's a great way to feel you've landed on your own James Bond beach. The staff shift your luggage around for you and are very adept at helping you in and out of boats. A tractor with people trailer takes you up the very steep hill from the beach to the lodge. I did walk it once and it's a great work out but you can radio from the beachside cabin at any time to get the tractor to come and pick you up. It's like a big family here. Everyone lives on site while they're working as it's so remote, and they all seem to get on really well. Lots of laughter and groups chipping in together. I was welcomed by the manager Steven Watson (Costa Rican but has lived in the states) and a refreshing fruit cocktail (non-alcoholic) and a fabulous lunch, then taken to my own cabin (number 1). The cabins are along concrete paths (you'll never get muddy feet) and all surrounded by their own garden areas and are very private. Comfy bed with ceiling fan above, a safe, hanging space, huge shower area with sink + toiletries, an outside shower, and a very spacious separate toilet + bidet + sink room. Good lighting, nice towels etc. The paths are lit at night but only sporadically so I was pleased to have my head torch. There's a main bar where two young bar men serve great cocktails, the back of which is open to a fabulous view of the forest. You can sit and spot birds, Coartis, monkeys etc. Between 5pm and 6ish the sunset bar just down the track is set up to serve cocktails (Claudio did the honours - he's a real character and full of info) as you sit and watch the skies shift through colours of the rainbow. I heard a young puma visited a couple of days before I arrived. He hung around for an hour! Steven blows on a conch shell to summon everyone to dinner at 7pm in the evenings (you'll be asked during the day for your choice of two main courses). Food is great and you certainly won't go hungry. I had two separate guides while I was there. Fabian took three of us along one of the Corcovado National Park trails which starts just by the private lodge beach. It's exceptional to have direct access to the park like this. No one else does! It was easy hiking and we took our time spotting a couple of harmless snakes, lizards, birds, monkeys, coartis etc. Spotting the gigantic crocodiles that had ridden out with the river mouth tides into the ocean to wait for unsuspecting pelicans to fish was amazing. Definitely no swimming there. Other areas are perfectly safe though. The private lodge beach is something out of a movie. Picnic lunches are brought down and served after trail hikes or boat trips. I can still hear the ocean, feel the warm breeze and see the pelicans swooping as I write this. There are hammocks for an early afternoon nap, or you can paddle/swim in the waves. Truly idyllic. If you don't fancy the sea, there's a great pool with loungers up in the main lodge area. This is also where you'll find wifi connection (not available in your cabin etc). At night you can wander around the pool edges and shine a bright torch into the foliage to see frogs etc. I did a pre-booked boat trip out to Cano Island one day. It's about 45 minutes straight across, whereas many other day trippers have to travel a couple of hours at least. Great snorkelling, and a small beach with lovely rock pools to explore. There's a toilet and ranger's station to keep an eye on the visitors. Lovely birds, and an extraordinary Green Bee - iridescent metallic emerald green - that looks like an alien and only lives on Cano island. Gotta love Costa Rica! Eduardo was the lead guide for this trip. He is extraordinary. He's an indigenous Boruca native and works at the lodge most of the month before returning to his native village to be with his family the rest of the time. His whole culture is based on nature/the forest so there's nothing he doesn't know. The lodge has only just secured his services and he's a real asset. His English is very good. I loved the staff, the setup, the location, the ambience here. They are professional and try very hard to make sure your stay is everything you'd hoped for. It's perfect if you want to relax and see Costa Rica at it's best. I was happily loving it on my own but I reckon it would be a perfect honeymoon destination!

Name: Absfab

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

In general, Corcovado was the most beautiful location but, probably, the least well-run. We really wouldn’t have wanted to miss it but the management of the place, communications and some of the little touches were just a bit unfocussed somehow. For example, the dining room is rather lovely, but the lighting makes it seem a bit dull and institutional. A few candles would have gone a long way. The tables are set for the relevant sized groups but far apart so that the different groups can’t mix very easily. There is a lovely sunset bar, but the cocktails are poorly made. The dinners are okay but have no flair. Clear communications from management when you get there, but the staff can sometimes be hard to find when you want them or give out the wrong info. I think if we had paid the full website price for this venue, we would have felt it was overpriced for the non-nature related aspects. However, the beaches and trails are really spectacular. (don’t miss the little path that goes off from the beach where you have lunch). The guide was poor and definitely needs to be more safety aware re the snorkelling trip. We were fine but open seas snorkelling like this is not for beginners. Lovely to see a humpback on the way to the island and to see a huge turtle when swimming. So, a bit of a conundrum this place. Beautiful but unfocussed service wise. I think that the owner and founder, who still lives on the property, needs to refresh his vision of what is on offer here, better motivate the staff and take H&S issues more seriously.

Name: Doctor Ian Ground

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Remote but right on edge of National park so no extra boat ride. Our boat ride to hotel was fun (ominous that all our luggage and back packs had to be sealed in waterproof bags) Some other guests had their boat swamped and damaged where the river meets the sea and its BIG waves. We loved it. All the lodges are very separated from each other. Ours was 14 which was right beside the forest but quite a walk. All the buildings gardens and surroundings were lovely but I wasnt impressed with food. Soup was not for me and mains were very short on veg and portions small but you are "locked" into this hotel. Breakfast ok . What a racket from the insects all day and night. Even the guide was glad to go on a trip to get way from noise. Didnt bother me but it was incessant..... Excellent wildlife. Transfer to San Jose by small plane was fun. I've never had so little room on an aircraft (single engine 12 seater) but the flight was great. They weighed us with our luggage, how good is that. Beware though of 18 kg + 5kg limit. They didn't say what combined weight was allowable;-)))

Name: Mr. Alan Payne

Date of trip: 27/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more
Alex-neaves
Talk to Alex - Travel Consultant

Call:  01473 890499

Start planning your tailor-made holiday now. Tell us what you want, and we will tailor make your perfect trip.

Client Rating for Costa Rica 5/5 from 216 reviews

Wonderful trip to get there. Arrived to a tractor to pull us up the steep track to the Lodge. Very good welcome, teams of men to lug the luggage. Large well spaced bungalows, comfortable, but not palatial, lovely outdoor shower under the stars! Good food, dinner for all at 7pm which made for speedy service. Good guides, birds and animals. Enjoyed trip to Caco Island but sad that there were a number of other boats and paradise island was shared with several others. C'est la vie I suppose.

The Tribes Foundation

Simply by booking with Tribes, you are making a difference. Every booking helps with The Tribes Foundation, the charity we back with admin and funds. Most clients give additional donations which we always put to very good use with one of the wildlife, environmental or social projects we support.

Travel with Respect for the Earth © KC,Shutterstock