Bahia del Sol

Playa Potrero, Guanacaste Costa Rica

Great position on the beach and next to the village, with a good pool, restaurant and bar. However, the room that I was allocated fell short of my expectations, which was unfortunate as this was meant to be my four days of relaxation, reading a book on my terrace - which I didn't have.

Name: Mr. Andrew Mahon

Date of trip: 05/03/2020

Number of people: 2

Read more

Bahia del Sol was a great place to relax. The rooms were light and airy and the services was super.

Name: Mrs. Aelein Messinger

Date of trip: 20/02/2020

Number of people: 2

Read more

Ideal for a few days’ relaxation by the beach, but probably not for any longer stay. The grounds are beautiful and the staff welcoming and helpful. We had an animal/bird? scratching around during the night (especially the first night) that sounded as if it were in the space between our ceiling and the room above.

Name: Mr. David Irving

Date of trip: 23/01/2020

Number of people: 2

Read more

Lovely hotel, smart and comfortable for our chillout few days before coming home. Beach very good but not especially good for snorkelling. We got the cheap local bus to Brasilito just up the road and walked to Playa Conchal Food was v. good from El Castillo opposite the hotel Very popular so booked and ate there twice Hemingways at Costa Rica sailing centre looked good but wouldnt go again. Perlas just down the road was nice especially if you like American style bar/ restaurants.

Name: Mr. Alan Payne

Date of trip: 21/01/2020

Number of people: 2

Read more

My idea of a perfect beach location, a long uncrowded beach with a small selection of locally owned bars and restaurants. However the restaurant service was awful, the worst l have experienced for a long time. Certainly not in keeping with the rest of the hotel.

Name: Mrs. Mills

Date of trip: 16/01/2020

Number of people: 2

Read more

A lovely hotel in a very good location. We were initially given an upgraded superior room, but chose to move to a standard room after one night, as although the superior room was large and comfortable with a luxurious bathroom, it had no windows and was at the back of the site. The hotel willingly moved us and we found the standard grade room to be very good and in a much better position. I had an accident whilst staying at this hotel (off the premises) and the staff were very obliging to my needs, providing the loan of a wheelchair and offering help. Breakfasts and other meals in the restaurant were all very good. The hotel was very well equipped with an excellent pool and plenty of seating and sun loungers.

Name: Heather N

Date of trip: 16/01/2020

Number of people: 2

Read more

We really enjoyed relaxing and recovering here. This is a very well organised hotel with about 40 rooms located directly behind the beach at Potrero. The village itself is about ¾ hour walk along the sandy beach but there is little to see there. The room ‘standard’ but was spacious and very suitable for our needs. A short stroll found us at the swimming pool which was well arranged and had underwater seating so that cocktail drinking in the pool was very relaxing and convenient. The restaurant is adjacent to the pool but also spills outside to make al fresco dining very enjoyable. Breakfast was served by waiters and the choice was good. Evening meals were good, but we did try out the adjacent Sailing Club one evening where we were served up with tasty seafood. We opted for a half day on a catamaran which took us out to sea under sail, provided us a free bar and buffet and allowed us to snorkel in the varied and colourful marine environment. Our guide found a mature turtle which we could swim alongside whilst we were thrilled by sights of multi-coloured fish life. This was a very relaxing way to end our holiday despite the need to get a five-hour minibus ride back to San Jose to catch the plane home.

Name: Mr. Martin White

Date of trip: 23/11/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

A complete and utter contrast to where we had stayed before- this is a fantastic place to stay!! Right next to the beach, with a lovely pool, great bar, with really good staff . The room was comfortable and clean, we ate in their restaurant- which was good and the breakfast was also very enjoyable. There are a few bars and restaurants within strolling distance, which provide a change from the hotel. The sunsets are a true attraction and their happy hour is well timed to coordinate with this! A taxi into Tamarindo (arranged by the hotel at a cost to us of $45 e/w) takes about 35-40 mins- and allowed us to see a much more commercialised area of this coast. We also rented a golf buggy locally which was very useful and good fun.

Name: Mr. Neil Symmonds

Date of trip: 12/11/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

We were upgraded to a large two bedroom suite which was fantastic. The setting of the hotel was amazing- right on the beach. We liked the restaurant here and overall our stay was very relaxing

Name: Mrs. Gemma Warriner

Date of trip: 31/07/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Lovely location on the beach. Small hotel. Nice breakfast. Ate lunch here sometimes but went out to local restaurants for dinner. Nice pool and friendly staff.

Name: Mrs. Jayne Johnson

Date of trip: 27/07/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Fi Segel

Date of trip: 24/07/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Hotel rooms were impressive and the aircon was a real plus. The bar drinks were particularly good. Food was probably the most expensive of any of the hotels we stayed in, but there were loads of walk able restaurants to try. The subsequent cleaning of our room across the stay was not fab, which would be our only negative comment. The staff were very nice and helpful.

Name: Doctor Alison Lee

Date of trip: 07/07/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Miss. Stephanie Mico

Date of trip: 11/05/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Loved the location on the beach front. Comfortable room and lovely gardens.

Name: Mrs. Keren Wheeler

Date of trip: 08/05/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

We were given a very nice room with very efficient air conditioning which was very much needed and appreciated as it was so hot when we stayed. The resort was very pretty with a gorgeous pool, bar and restaurant. Also being right on the beach front it was nice to be able to walk along and see the local cattle doing the same. Although we don't normally enjoy beach holidays as lounging around isn't normally our scene, it was a very welcome break to recover from all the exciting and busy days we had had and reflect on such a fantastic holiday overall.

Name: Mr. Christopher Ellsum

Date of trip: 20/04/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Beautiful position on the beach. The best lunches/dinners of the trip. Helpful staff. Only one issue detracted - the room could have been cleaner (it needed a really through deep clean).

Name: Mrs. Clare Cobbold

Date of trip: 10/04/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

No complaints, not quite to the same standard as the other locations and we did find a couple of members of staff rather grumpy which really surprised us as we had all commented about the friendliness of the people.

Name: Mrs. Kim Marshall

Date of trip: 05/04/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

A very laid back and friendly small hotel, right on the beach. The perfect place to unwind at the end of the holiday.

Name: Ross

Date of trip: 05/04/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

A boutique hotel set in lush gardens adjacent to the beach. A good reasonably priced restaurant. Beach is sandy, uncrowded and ideal for swimming. Lovey in the evening to view the pelicans diving for fish and watching the beautiful sunset.

Name: Mr. Nicholas Tucker

Date of trip: 21/03/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Mr & Mrs Pearson

Date of trip: 21/03/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

A nice hotel in a great location

Name: Mrs. Nicola Bickers

Date of trip: 19/03/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Lovely location right on the beach. Lots of eating places that are easily accessible from the hotel. Staff very accommodating. An ideal place to relax after travelling around.

Name: r and j

Date of trip: 05/03/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Smallish hotel, right on the beach in a lovely wide bay, ocean rollers as the soundtrack, large, stylish rooms (huge. comfortable beds, great bathrooms), enthusiastic, personable staff. The food is a bit up and down, and the mysterious and uncharacteristic decision to start up a club volume disco just before sunset on the Friday cleared the pool bar in seconds, but overall this was a lovely place to spend our last few days. One thing to note is that the beach is sandy and gently shelving but the waves would be challenging for small children or less confident swimmers.

Name: UK Family aged 60/60/26/23

Date of trip: 02/03/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

This is a smaller low key hotel - doesn’t have the glitz of some hotels but we really enjoyed it. Friendly efficient staff, excellent breakfast/ dining. We stayed in a family suite which was a large 2 bed 2 bath apartment with kitchen and living area and a nice terrace - it was a lovely room - slightly dated fixtures but overall a really good place to stay. The hotel is located right on the beach which is v nice low key beach, safe bathing, and there are a number of restaurants and a supermarket within a five minute walk. Great place to end our holiday.

Name: Ms. Helen Collins

Date of trip: 07/02/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Lovely beach-side setting, but Very disappointing room (115) overlooking road at rear of hotel. Staff service and attitude varied from generally friendly to dismissive. Not in same league as other hotels on our trip.

Name: Mr. Alwin Hutchinson

Date of trip: 05/02/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

A lsmall beach front hotel with nice pool & bar area. Just needs some TLC in some areas in the rooms.

Name: Mrs Claire Thomas

Date of trip: 02/02/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

The rooms are set within well maintained grounds and gardens and literally right on the beach. Lots of shady spots for those who want to avoid the sun. Several good restaurants within walking distance that offer better value than the hotel. We had a de luxe superior double which apparently is new, but the signs of wear and tear are obvious. The bathroom was huge but there was no outside seating area which the less expensive double rooms did have, so we wouldn't recommend paying more for a de luxe superior double.

Name: Mr. Andrew Robertson

Date of trip: 31/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Great location right on the beach. Lots of wildlife. Yoga with a view to the Pacific and listening to the waves was a bonus. Good local restaurants

Name: Mr. Colin Armstrong

Date of trip: 31/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Pretty fine if you want to be on the beach but not quite as good as the other hotels e.g. after we told reception about our loose bathroom tap, ants and a gheko in the room they didn't do anything nor could they find us a local map or tell us much about the area.

Name: Doctor Peter Eastham

Date of trip: 24/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

The hotel was well located on the beach with mature gardens, stunning views and great sunsets. Although it was high season, the beach in front of the hotel was empty most of the time. The food and drink in the hotel was good and the staff friendly and helpful. There were also other restaurants and bars within walking distance.

Name: Mr. Allan Thomson

Date of trip: 15/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Excellent location on the beach, but the room was in a poor location. And the staff were not helpful when we had a problem trying to hire bikes. In fact to anyone staying here, I would suggest they go to the local bike hire shop a couple of hundred metres away. We ate out in local restaurants most of the time.

Name: Mr. Neil Henson

Date of trip: 04/12/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Ideal place for a chill-out, right on the ocean, and a respectful distance from Tamarindo. The West coast appears more geared for tourist trade, expecially from the USA, but the welcome was consistent with the rest of the country, and there were plenty of excellent places to eat (and, on one occasion, attempt to teach some local kids to play pool !) The kayak trip across the bay was a highlight, even if i did end up with a black eye thanks to one momentary lapse of concentration. Great.

Name: Mr. Ray Pencavel

Date of trip: 24/11/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Loved this too - set on very long quiet beach. Rooms large and very modern. Staff very nice. Large pool for number of rooms and lovely swim up bar - no piped music. Lots of seating and beds around the pool and on the beach. Food very good.

Name: Mrs. Andrea Dawson

Date of trip: 06/11/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Lovely beachside hotel with friendly staff. Very relaxing after 10 days travelling around Costa Rica. However the standard rooms need updating especially the bathroom which required a deep clean. However the grounds were beautiful and the sea a step away.

Name: Mrs. Karen Butler

Date of trip: 19/08/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Relaxing beach front hotel. Supermarket and restaurants within walking distance.

Name: Ms. Susan Keates

Date of trip: 04/08/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Perfect place for R&R. We loved it! Very friendly team of staff - probably the best during our Costa Rican adventure. We didn't leave the hotel apart from walks and swimming along the deserted beach!

Name: Mrs. Elizabeth Bellamy

Date of trip: 25/07/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Just what you need after nearly two weeks of Touring round costs Rica, lovely place, almost deserted beach, very nice pool and food. A few good restaurants in walking distance, including Castillo which is next door. Nice wildlife in grounds including Bats, iguanas, birds, plus we saw baby manta rays swimming in the Pacific Surf. Great place. Amazing sunsets over Pacific Ocean.

Name: Doug

Date of trip: 25/07/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Ideal for chill out time, but also easy to explore local area. Beautiful small beachside hotel which was ideal for us. All staff very friendly and helpful. Icing on the cake for me was the Yoga class - I went each morning and loved it! Breakfast staff were so helpful that they let me have coffee & fruit before Yoga and the rest of my breakfast after!

Name: Ms. Miriam Muzzell

Date of trip: 02/06/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Out of this world, the setting, the food, facilities; wonderful.

Name: Susan

Date of trip: 15/03/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Ideal location on a quiet beach front. Rooms modern and boutique style, very spacious, plenty of storage with a massive walkin shower and huge comfortable bed. Excellent food and first class service from an enthusiastic staff. Cocktail happy hour not to be missed from the pool bar. Plenty of bars and restaurants nearby within easy walking distance.

Name: Tony

Date of trip: 08/03/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

A lovely beach resort. Most of the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, but the atmosphere was spoiled by 2 or 3 of the waiting staff, who were surly and begrudging.

Name: Stephen

Date of trip: 22/02/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very good and modern hotel. Well run. Good Wifi, nice food and friendly staff. Liked the fact that the chef came out and asked me if I enjoyed my lunch-time lobster roll! The room was fronted by a full glass entrance with sliding doors so curtains needed to be drawn for privacy. Wierd feature of a bath in the middle of the room placed in a drainage tray filled with cobbles - not very practical to get in and out of so did not use and probably not many others have used it! Pool nice with poolside bar and happy hour feature. The pool needed to be cleaned of debris (leaves etc.) a little more often though. Only downside was the room cleaning was not very good; dust in the corners of the room and the floor not cleaned. Again, I remade the bed every day. Wonderful grounds and beach and not too crowded. Very amused by the American/German claiming of sun loungers. Just a point to note, the sea seemed quite cold in this bay compared with further south at Manuel Antonio.

Name: Sara and Peter

Date of trip: 20/02/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Did not appreciate that none of the rooms had sea views and most rooms had shared outside space ( ie no private terraces) However the room was very comfortable and clean with good air con and fan. The breakfast was excellent and staff generally very friendly ( some of the bar staff were very grumpy at Happy Hour!!) There was a good selection of restaurants in the local area offering a variety of food.

Name: Mrs. Diane Bryant

Date of trip: 20/02/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Upon arrival saw standard room. Looked awful. Spoke to reception who said I could upgrade for a cost, so spoke to manager who agreed to upgrade for nothing. Took 15 mins! New room great (hot tub in garden), everthing else perfect. Ltd dining menu, but only ate in one night as there were lots of good restaurants very close. My wife had a massage and was very happy.

Name: Mr. Anthony Conway

Date of trip: 27/01/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Fantastic. Lots of good eateries close by. Food in hotel was very good too. Best place to,unwind after a lot of travelling. Weather hot and sunny for 11 months of the year.

Name: Mr. Bill Stiles

Date of trip: 18/01/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

A perfect location to relax and contemplate our adventures. This hotel is located right on the beach and happy hour sunset cocktails. Staff and facilities were excellent. None of our party wanted to leave.

Name: Mrs. Liz Moore

Date of trip: 18/11/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

A very smart hotel in a first-rate location. Personnel were lovely, there was a welcome drink, cold towels and coffee in the room. There was space to sit outside the room and the shared areas were comfortable and inviting. Breakfasts were good. The location was a highlight....almost on the beach and a fantastic sunset or view of the storm from the open bar as appropriate! Pelicans flying past the diving platform and the lizard who lived in the tree were exotic additions. We liked the labels on the trees also! Good to have a supermarket, bars and tours nearby.

Name: Mrs. Deirdre Devine

Date of trip: 17/08/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Ms. Mary Roberts

Date of trip: 26/04/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Well run hotel, comfortable, clean rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. When rain was forecast, and boy did it rain that evening, cleaning staff had left an umbrella in our room. Nice touch. The grounds are beautiful and overlook the beach and Pacific ocean. Very good restaurant for breakfast, midday snack and evening meal alike. Beautiful beaches and scenery in the local area and short walk to several local restaurants open in the evenings.

Name: Mr. Raymond Avery

Date of trip: 13/04/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

A tired hotel with scruffy edges. Staff were on the whole miserable and unfriendly. On arrival we were offered substandard rooms due to one of the rooms having no AC. We tussled for a while and viewed several rooms and settled on two that were appropriate, clean and smart and as per our travel details. The food was disappointing so we ate out locally. Would not recommend.

Name: Mrs. Jenni Portman - Mr Bryan Portman

Date of trip: 23/03/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Doctor Abdi Sanati

Date of trip: 25/02/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

The only criticism would be the breakfast service, whilst always friendly and well-intentioned was, at times, haphazard eg coffee before juice, orders not right. But we always got there in the end. Beautiful grounds.

Name: Mr. Paul Roberts

Date of trip: 14/02/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Would have liked to have put excellent here but the restaurant let it down slightly as the staff were not very attentive. The location is excellent. We had an deluxe room and it was superb but all the rooms looked very nice. Reception staff very good.

Name: Tracy

Date of trip: 28/01/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Well set up hotel. Service rather slow at times. Not enough sunshades....only 3 in shade all day.

Name: Mrs. Patricia Pitt

Date of trip: 03/01/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more
Alex-neaves
Talk to Alex - Travel Consultant

Call:  01473 890499

Start planning your tailor-made holiday now. Tell us what you want, and we will tailor make your perfect trip.

Client Rating for Costa Rica 5/5 from 216 reviews

A fantastic place to stay! Right next to the beach, with a lovely pool, great bar, with really good staff. The room was comfortable and clean, we ate in their restaurant which was good and the breakfast was also enjoyable. There are a few bars and restaurants within strolling distance, which provide a change from the hotel. The sunsets are a true attraction and their happy hour is well-timed to coordinate with this!

The Tribes Foundation

Simply by booking with Tribes, you are making a difference. Every booking helps with The Tribes Foundation, the charity we back with admin and funds. Most clients give additional donations which we always put to very good use with one of the wildlife, environmental or social projects we support.

Travel with Respect for the Earth © KC,Shutterstock