Arenal Springs Resort & Spa

Arenal Costa Rica

A bit concerned on arrival by the manicured lawns and lack of trails, but there were lots of birds and we enjoyed the pools. We added a float trip down the river to our itinerary - any more adventurous activities needed a whole day. All the cabins had a view of the volcano, so could be forgiven for their rather regimented rows!

Name: Mrs Patricia Staniforth

Date of trip: 31/01/2020

Number of people: 2

Read more

Much larger more American than the. Xandari but the staff were very helpful and pleasant. There was nothing better than a pina colada in the springs at dusk. Our rooms were perfectly formed in a great location that was quiet and had the most magnificent views of the volcano We were there fo4 NYEve and they put on a great party with the most energetic dancers accompanied by loud drummers that really saw in the new decade followed by fireworks that was spectacular and lasted about 15 minutes Do try the pizza from the wood fired oven

Name: Mrs D King

Date of trip: 28/12/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Beautiful room and setting. Good choice of food in two restaurants (but expensive, like all hotel restaurants in Costa Rica). Fabulous hot springs with swim up bar. Very friendly staff, great welcome (with drink). Drove us to our room in a buggy and showed us round. Nice gym and treatment spa area.

Name: Steve Gilbert

Date of trip: 03/12/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Amazing breakfasts, lovely pool bar, fab view of the volcano.

Name: Mrs. Clare Cobbold

Date of trip: 10/04/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

A high standard hotel with hot springs. It wasn’t authentic enough for us as the accommodation was too American and could have been anywhere in the world

Name: Mrs. Susan Breslin

Date of trip: 09/03/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

I can't fault the hotel it was just not what i was expecting. It's a sanitised American resort. Yoga class great and breakfast first class. On reflection we would have been better in smaller hotel nearer the village. Hanging bridge tour good, walking not at all difficult. Nice to have fruit and iced tea at the end.

Name: Mrs Jane Bennett

Date of trip: 04/03/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

We thought we might need a bit of respite by the time we got to La Fortuna, so we chose a place which would be modern, comfortable, and uncomplicated. In fact, Tortuguero and Sarapiqui were so good that this wasn't really necessary. Arenal Springs is fine - very comfortable rooms, great views of the volcano from the veranda, and a range of hot spring pools. However, the Floridian designers have brought the Truman Show to Costa Rica with their rows of little houses, and allowing guests to drive their own cars - and buses - around the site is not a smart idea.

Name: UK Family aged 60/60/26/23

Date of trip: 02/03/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Our favourite location of the holiday in an exciting area. Our chalet offered good views of the volcano and was exceptionally well-appointed. The food was excellent as was the service and attention to detail. We were greeted with a welcoming cocktail and cold towel. All other amenities at the hotel lived up to the same high standard.

Name: Elaine

Date of trip: 28/02/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Wow - what rooms - 6 star quality (better than I found in many business trips in Dubai ! ) - beautiful rooms, jacuzzi in the bathroom and jacuzzi on the balcony terrace. Great food in the restaurant. $10 taxi each way to Fortuna but not much of a town, so better to spend the fare in the hotel restaurant ! The hanging bridges walk was ok but too many tourists and midday meant few birds to see. We saw Acoti and an eyelash viper and a few birds.

Name: Mr. Christopher Tyler

Date of trip: 26/02/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Tremendous view of Arenal Volcano from our room and from most of the site. Big plus was the thermal pools which were open until 10 pm. These were a real tonic after long days of exploring. The room is described as a junior suite but doesn't have a seating area just two double beds. Lots of lovely birds on site. Watch out for Passerini's Tanager.

Name: Mr. Andrew Robertson

Date of trip: 31/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Odd room configuration in that we had the massive room with all the baths etc I referred to earlier while our friends had a much smaller standard sized room next door. There was an adjoining door which we had to ask to have closed. I think the suite they put us in was actually a family suite. Our friends oddly had no hot water in their sink but did get a reduction off their bill when it became evident they couldn’t immediately fix it!

Name: Doctor John Watkins

Date of trip: 04/01/2019

Number of people: 2

Read more

Great accommodation and the thermal baths are excellent. Unfortunately only one restaurant was open. This was the pizza restaurant which meant very limited choice for the gluten intolerant person in the party. We therefore ate in Fortuna at Inspira, a great new restaurant that is well worth a visit.

Name: Paul

Date of trip: 24/11/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Relaxing time with lovely spacious rooms. Staff really friendly.

Name: Ms. Susan Keates

Date of trip: 04/08/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Beautiful surroundings attracting birdlife including Humming birds

Name: Mrs. Juliet Hanwell

Date of trip: 01/08/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Mixed reviews from our party. Some people liked the luxury, especially the wet bar! Others (i.e. me) found it all too Fat American - the golf buggies and the Stepford Wives hut layout etc. The food was OK, but overpriced, so we spent most of our evenings escaping to the nearby town (La Fortuna), which we really liked.

Name: Mr. Duncan Green

Date of trip: 08/04/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Wow. What can we say? This was a much busier hotel, but didn't really feel like it. The individual lodges were spacious and comfortable - and the towel animals were brilliant. Incredible views of the volcano. Gorgeous hot spring pools - you can even eat at the sushi bar without leaving the pool. The welcome team were very attentive, and even took our bags by golf buggy. They changed our room so that were next to a family who we had met earlier in the holiday. This attention to details and customer care was maintained throughout the holiday. We are not used to this sort of luxury, which was rather a contrast to Tortuguero's rustic charm.

Name: Mr Ian Barthorpe

Date of trip: 28/03/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Relaxed luxury, friendly, fun. Clean and very well,managed.

Name: Susan

Date of trip: 15/03/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

A lovely hotel in a superb setting

Name: Stephen

Date of trip: 22/02/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Mr Andre Morrison

Date of trip: 01/02/2018

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very comfortable and the springs and the view of the volcano were lovely. A bit impersonal and American for my tastes but for a two day stay not a problem

Name: Mr. David Saunders

Date of trip: 28/11/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Spacious room (in fact, a semi-detached chalet) with marvellous views of Mt. Arenal. Beautiful, well-maintained surroundings. Pools and hot springs perfect for relaxing in. Restaurant menu rather disappointing as it was restricted to Italian dishes.

Name: RetiredBritishCouple

Date of trip: 26/09/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Super hotel, food etc a bit pricey so we used the local town to eat etc. absolutely everything about the hotel was superb and the staff excellent.

Name: Mr. Graham Parker

Date of trip: 14/06/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Fabulous lodge with great volcano views. Lovely hot springs and decent food.

Name: Mr. Robert Burnett

Date of trip: 28/02/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Ms Cherry Crouch

Date of trip: 21/02/2017

Number of people: 2

Read more

Highlight -Hotel hot springs with included green iguana !!

Name: Jane

Date of trip: 30/12/2016

Number of people: 2

Read more

Lovely gardens and pools, good food, great views of volcano.

Name: Mr. Andrew Fellows

Date of trip: 20/01/2016

Number of people: 2

Read more
Alex-neaves
Talk to Alex - Travel Consultant

Call:  01473 890499

Start planning your tailor-made holiday now. Tell us what you want, and we will tailor make your perfect trip.

Client Rating for Costa Rica 5/5 from 216 reviews

Lovely gardens and pools, good food, and great views of Arenal volcano.

The Tribes Foundation

Simply by booking with Tribes, you are making a difference. Every booking helps with The Tribes Foundation, the charity we back with admin and funds. Most clients give additional donations which we always put to very good use with one of the wildlife, environmental or social projects we support.

Travel with Respect for the Earth © KC,Shutterstock