Alta Hotel

Costa Rica

All aspects we're good.

Name: Mr Adrian Townsend

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Nice and comfortable. Maybe a bit far from town center

Name: Mrs. Catherine Bernadat Ep. Frenzel

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Really classy. Excellent staff.

Name: Jane

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Poor position. 14 dollars for a main pasta meal which was very small and over priced. I am 60, 5ft 3ins and 8 stone and it was barely enough for me.

Name: Mrs. Patricia Pitt

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Staff very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Great views from our balcony. Superb food in the restaurant. A great place to relax after the long flight.

Name: Tracy

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Because of the flight arriving in early am, we only got to spend a few hours at this hotel.

Name: Ms. Gail Kaplan

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Beautiful colonial style hotel; room service very good. Excellent first night stop.

Name: Mr. Paul Roberts

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A very peaceful and luxurious way to begin and end our visit

Name: Mr. Alwin Hutchinson

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Just here for one night but it was a lovely room with our own little terrace. Lovely dinner that night too.

Name: Mrs. Jackie Morris

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Average only because for a one night stay, this was placed too far away from the airport. Overall however, the service and food were good but we were not there long enough to form a firm opinion. Would finish by stating that the AC did not work so our sleep was uncomfortable.

Name: Mrs. Jenni Portman - Mr Bryan Portman

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Brilliant to start and end your holiday but be aware it is outside of San Jose.

Name: Mr. Dyfrig Davies

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

We had rooms on 4th floor on our first night and 5th floor on our last night. The rooms had extensive views over Escazu and the Valley. Good restaurant, walled pool and garden area. The hotel is on a number of levels going down the hillside which was interesting. An excellent base for the start and finish of our tour.

Name: Mr. Laurence Boyle

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

First class hotel with great staff and very welcoming.

Name: Mr. Graham Parker

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very helpful and a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere

Name: Ms. Gillian Glendinning

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Top hotel, amazing food, stunning decor.

Name: Ms. Antonia Wills

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Comfortable, well equipped rooms, particularly when we were on the ground floor (our own little patio/garden with easy access to pool area). We had some spare time here and found the grounds relaxing. We never got to grips with possible outings into the city; it seemed a bit remote and one couple aborted a taxi ride to a restaurant they had booked because of traffic gridlock. Also, not sure the location was right for Airport access - even at off-peak times the traffic jams were awful. It was also the wrong side of town for the exit to Sarapiqui.

Name: Mr Peter Griffiths

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very nice place and ideal for our first night. However, we feel that it was a waste of our last day being 'stuck' in Santa Ana for the duration. We would have liked to be able to use the time to see a little of San Jose (as indeed another of your clients on a similar itinerary did).

Name: Mr. Peter Cannell

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

We were only there for an afternoon and one night - the hotel was very clean and functional and gave us our first taste of Imperial Lager and Costa Rica Expresso Coffee - what a treat!

Name: Mrs. Julie Jones

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Comfortable and quiet, if a little out of the centre of town

Name: Nick Ward

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Nice hotel in the hills above San Jose. Quiet, just what is required after a long flight.

Name: Mr. David Peek

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

This was used as an overnight stop only so was very comfortable with excellent ( if expensive) food however if you were staying in San Jose for longer it may not be so suitable.

Name: Mrs. Diane Bryant

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Only stayed there as a first night stopover, but a lovely hotel with good food and stunning views over San Jose

Name: Senior couple from Emsworth, UK

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very pleasant. We were hoping to get a light poolside lunch, but the menu is the same as the evening restaurant where we ate later. Good food and friendly staff. The breakfast (we chose the continental) was not good. The bread and pastries were dry and hard and the jam(jelly) was more like a fruit coulis. However, the fresh fruit, yogurt and granola was as expected.

Name: Mrs. Anne Mitchell

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Foundly family

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Staff were superb. Unfortunately due to time of year (rainy season) it was very quiet (which we loved). Room was good and all the amenities were as described.

Name: Mrs. Sheila Pearcey

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Good location for our arrival night in Costa Rica.

Name: Paul

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very unusual building - comfortable rooms. The small bottles of water in the rooms were on sale at $7 each! We ate in their dining room and the meal was very good but we sensed the head waiter was a bit pushy and angling for a large tip. The owners wife introduced herself to us and was charming

Name: Doctor John Watkins

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Brian Samuel

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Perfect for the one night following our BA flight and in preparation for the next day's travel. At first I wondered why were were staying some distance from the airport as we would be returning there early the next morning, however the ambience and style of the hotel was well pitched for the style of the holiday (i.e. it was not a run-of-the-mill airport Holiday Inn). The food at dinner and breakfast was tasty.

Name: Sue Filmer

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Lovely hotel for our last night in Costa Rica.

Name: Mrs Claire Thomas

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Great way to start our trip.

Name: Mr. Alwin Hutchinson

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

It was a shame we didn’t get the full advantage of this lovely hotel on our first night due to timings but we made up for it on our last night. The staff were all really friendly and welcoming. It’s a lovely hotel, if a little way out of town.

Name: Mr. John Wilkins

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Couldn't fault it, superb location for our first night.

Name: Mrs. Wendy Butcher

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

In retrospect, we felt we would have preferred to have transferred to the airport from the coast and added another night somewhere along the way rather than this night . Without a game plan in San Jose for the morning the wait fro the transport was a bit of an anticlimax . Having said that the hotel room had great views of San Jose and the food and service was excellent . the final transfer was very punctual with no problems getting to the airport

Name: Mr. Peter Cavanagh

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

This was a good stop over from the flight. It felt too far from town to walk/see San José so we had a gap on Sat afternoon. However, it was an easy drive out on Sunday with our rental car as we got used to Costa Rica roads and signs. The food and service were lovely.

Name: Mrs. Nicola Tallett

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

A lovely hotel, but the restaurant was quite formal and expensive - perhaps a bit excessive for final evening which was just a stop over before an early flight the next day.

Name: Ross

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Name: Mrs. Nicola Bickers

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

This was a lovely hotel with a very nice restaurant. The interior was very nicely decorated inside their very impressive building. The pool could have done with a clean (the reason I haven’t selected excellent) but it was a nice relaxed space to sunbath in before heading to the airport.

Name: Christina

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Very, very good, but not really there long enough to say much.

Name: Rebecca K

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Lovely views over San Jose

Name: Mrs. Sophie Holbrook

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

We arrived here totally worn out by a long flight from the UK and an unexpectedly long drive from the airport, the expected 25 minute transfer expanding to 1.5 hours owing to the bank holiday evening rush hour traffic. Feeling a little jaded we were tempted just to go straight to bed but headed to the bar for a quick drink, looked at the menu and decided to have dinner. We were delighted we did! The food was really, really good (gorgeous tuna steak!) and the mojitos were the best on our holiday - and we 'tested' each hotel and lodge we stayed at to make sure! The hotel is a little dated in places, but the beds were huge and very comfortable, the bathrooms great (and also huge!) and food and service excellent. In spite of the unexpectedly long journey it was a good choice for the first night of our holiday.

Name: Mrs. Karen Coe

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Excellent in every respect.

Name: Ms. Johanna Simonetti

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

Excellent hotel, very roomy with lovely views. We did not try the restaurant as seemed quite expensive when only a snack was needed. Only issue for us was the location, not being able to safely go out for a proper walk from the hotel to get some exercise. The road outside did not have a pavement but we did risk the short walk along it to the local bar which was excellent for cheap drink and snack.

Name: Ann Clark

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

We felt we could have had a more basic hotel, closer to the airport as we spent so little time there. That said we have no complaints.

Name: Mr. Andrew Stockham

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more

The hotel was in a lovely setting with great views and it had a lovely feel and was extremely well maintained. We were originally going to stay in the centre of San jose but are very pleased that we changed our minds and stayed here at Anitas suggestion.

Name: Caroline Muir

Date of trip: 26/02/2021

Number of people: 2

Read more
Dave-Lock
Talk to Dave - Travel Consultant

Call:  01473 890499

Start planning your tailor-made holiday now. Tell us what you want, and we will tailor make your perfect trip.

Client Rating for Costa Rica 5/5 from 216 reviews

All aspects we're good.

The Tribes Foundation

Simply by booking with Tribes, you are making a difference. Every booking helps with The Tribes Foundation, the charity we back with admin and funds. Most clients give additional donations which we always put to very good use with one of the wildlife, environmental or social projects we support.

Travel with Respect for the Earth © KC,Shutterstock